Making a Website is Hard

I realize I need to be more proactive with finishing my site and I hope regular blogging will inspire me to keep working and actually get  this thing finished! I starting working on in August of last year, which is crazy. I logged onto my site for the first time at the beginning of January and was kind of embarrassed I did had a notice up saying “Coming in October”. I could offer up a ton of excises but the bottom line is I did not meet my self imposed deadline. I offered up a new deadline on the site of February. That gives me about another month to have it up. I have a lot to accomplish in the next weeks but I am really committed to getting it live in that time, even if it is not 100% complete.

I realized today that designing a website from scratch is a lot like designing and building a house. I may have a ton of content to fill the website out, but I need to build the house around to store everything. It needs to be visually appealing, easy to use, and most importantly, really show off my skills so I can get more work. I am really going back to the basics and focussing on small things like colors, page layouts, logos and such before I even start building the index page. I feel spending the time getting everything right now will pay off big time when it comes to building it.

So here is the update: I spent today designing the logo and picking out a tag line for the site. I really like what I have come up with. Of course, it could change before the site launches so I do not want to share it at the moment. I am going to tweak it tonight in Photoshop and once its perfect, I will add it to my Twitter page and maybe on the main page to the site.

As I said, I will be trying to update this blog regularly about the building of the project and eventually it will turn more into a music/ post audio blog once the site is up. I know people aren’t reading this now, but for those in the future reading back, know that this is where is started.

Steve K

Leave a Reply

